Video: Zander Fagerson is banned for the rest of the Six Nations for this challenge, is that the right call?

Scotland will be without one of their core starting 15 for the rest of the Six Nations after prop Zander Fagerson was handed a four week suspension for his ‘red card’ challenge against Wales on the 13th of February.

In the 53rd minute, Zander was given an early exit and Scotland were down to 14 men as he was deemed to enter the ruck dangerously and make contact with a Welsh head. Referees have become more and more careful around the officiating of clear-outs and how they are no longer allowed.

Scottish fans believe this is the moment that swayed the game and could have stopped them completely from wining the Six Nations and Triple Crown. Was it the right decision from the referee at the time?

Pictures courtesy of the BBC

Scotland were in the lead and seemed to be cruising before this call with back row Hamish Watson coming out after the game to call the ref’s decision “an absolutely dreadful call” during a press conference.

The next day he then apologised for his comments and stated player health is ‘paramount’. Do you think he meant what he originally said? Do the Scottish team believe it was the wrong call?

Zander has been handed a four week suspension because of the challenge and will miss the remainder of the competition, does he deserve a ban of this length or is it too harsh?

More Stories Rugby Scotland six nations