Ireland name squad for Euro qualifiers next month

Posted by

Republic of Ireland manager Martin O’Neill has this afternoon named his provisional squad for next month’s UEFA Euro 2016 qualifiers.

Today’s provisional squad announcement sees the inclusion of Bournemouth’s Eunan O’Kane, who earns a first senior call-up and is joined by the uncapped duo of Brentford’s Alan Judge and Aberdeen’s Adam Rooney.

The squad will be shortened ahead of assembling on the evening of August 30.

Ireland play Gibraltar in Portugal on September 4 and then face Georgia in the Aviva Stadium three days later.

Ireland are currently fourth in Group D behind Poland, Germany and Scotland.

Speaking at today’s press conference at the FAI headquarters, O’Neill said: “These are two very important games in our qualifying campaign and we are looking forward to them.

“The players are all now back in action with their respective clubs and will be ready for these games.”

Ireland squad:

David Forde Millwall

Shay Given Stoke City

Keiren Westwood Sheffield Wednesday

Darren Randolph West Ham United 1

Rob Elliot Newcastle United

Richard Keogh Derby County

Marc Wilson Stoke City

Seamus Coleman Everton

Cyrus Christie Derby County

John O’Shea Sunderland

Alex Pearce Derby County

Ciaran Clark Aston Villa

Paul McShane Reading

James McCarthy Everton

Jeff Hendrick Derby County

Stephen Ward Burnley

Greg Cunningham Preston North End

Harry Arter Bournemouth

Glenn Whelan Stoke City

Eunan O’Kane Bournemouth

Aiden McGeady Everton

James McClean West Bromwich Albion

Alan Judge Brentford

Robbie Brady Norwich City

Anthony Pilkington Cardiff City

Stephen Quinn Reading

David Meyler Hull City

Wes Hoolahan Norwich City

Robbie Keane LA Galaxy

Shane Long Southampton

Daryl Murphy Ipswich Town

Jon Walters Stoke City

Kevin Doyle Colorado Rapids

Anthony Stokes Celtic FC

David McGoldrick Ipswich Town

Adam Rooney Aberdeen

Simon Cox Reading

More Stories Sport