Anthony Cunningham selects same again for Tipperary clash

Posted by

By Stephen Barry

The same Galway team that dispatched Cork by 12 points will face Tipperary on Sunday, after Anthony Cunningham announced an unchanged team for the All-Ireland semi-final.

Teenage sensation Conor Whelan continues at right-wing forward in a dangerous looking attack.

The Tribesmen will be seeking revenge for their Qualifier loss to Tipperary last year, when the Premier outscored them by 2-10 to 0-1 in the final 20 minutes.

The Galway full-back line is completely changed from that loss although, like Tipperary, they will start with 10 of the 15 who played that day.

Galway will also be looking to come good on Cunningham’s post-Leinster final promise to Brian Cody, that the two would meet again in September’s decider.

GALWAY: Colm Callanan (Kinvara);

Johnny Coen (Loughrea), John Hanbury (Rahoon-Newcastle), Pádraig Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh);

Aidan Harte (Gort), Iarla Tannian (Ardrahan), Daithí Burke (Turloughmore);

Andy Smith (Portumna – Capt), David Burke (St Thomas’);

Conor Whelan (Kinvara), Cyril Donnellan (Pádraig Pearse’s), Jonathan Glynn (Ardrahan);

Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkin’s), Joe Canning (Portumna), Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenag).

More Stories Sport