Vera Pauw names Ireland squad for Ukraine clash

Vera Pauw has named a preliminary squad of 30 for the European Championship qualifier against Ukraine this month.

The Republic of Ireland women’s team face Ukraine in Kiev in a massive game. Victory, or a draw, would secure second spot in Group I and a Euro 2022 play-off spot.

However, Ireland will be going for all three points as they still have a chance of automatic qualification for the tournament as best runner-up.

Germany have already secured top spot in the group and Ireland and the Ukraine are currently vying for second spot.

Ukraine have played one game less than Ireland but they are currently seven points behind, meaning they need to win on Ocotber 23rd.

There are no new additions to the squad that was announced for last month’s loss away to Germany with nine Women’s National League players receiving call-ups.

Republic of Ireland WNT Squad

Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid-Burke (Peamount United)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Reading), Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Aine O’Gorman (Peamount United)

Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O’Sullivan (Brighton & Hove Albion – on loan from NC Courage), Alli Murphy (London City Lionesses), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Hayley Nolan (London City Lionesses), Ruesha Littlejohn (Leicester City), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Stephanie Roche (Peamount United), Julie-Ann Russell (Sydney University)

Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kyra Carusa (HB Hoge)

More Stories Soccer Sport