KSI’s win over Joe Fournier changed to no decision following illegal elbow

Posted by

KSI had originally ‘won’ the bout and knocked out Joe Fournier in the second round of their contest.

The PBA have made their ruling on the bout and said:

“Today, on 19th May 2023 Mr Joe Fournier and KSI were advised of a ‘Reviewed Decision’ that was undertaken by Mr Gareth Morris, the referee in charge of the bout on Saturday 13th May 2023 at the OVO Arena, Wembley, London, United Kingdom.

“Mr Fournier had submitted a protest and KSI responded following KSI’s Technical Knockout win in the second round of the fight.

“After a thorough review of the evidence and representations, along with the assistance of Mr Micky Vann (the Supervisor in charge) and an eminent Barrister (Mr Gul Nawaz Hussain KC of 33 Bedford Row Chambers, London) where necessary, Mr Morris came to an independent decision.

“Even though KSI was winning the fight, the blow with the forearm/elbow has been found to be accidental and the obvious disappointment that will follow, it has been decided that the contest is declared a No Decision in accordance with the Rules.

“The PBA has conducted the review properly, fairly and with legal assistance throughout as the bout was sanctioned and regulated under the unified rules of boxing.

“We have ensured that this process was conducted swiftly and fairly to uphold the integrity of boxing.”


More Stories KSI