Ireland v Bulgaria: Time, channel, team news

Posted by

Stephen Kenny’s starts his reign Republic of Ireland manager with a UEFA Nations League clash against Bulgaria tonight.

Here is everything you need to know about the game.

What time?

The game kicks off at 7.45pm (Irish time) at the Vasil Levski National Stadium in the Bulgarian capital Sofia.

Where can I watch it?

You can watch the game live on Sky Sports football at 7.45pm, with coverage starting at 7pm.

Virgin Media One will be showing highlights of the game at 10pm along with deferred coverage at 11pm.

Ireland v Bulgaria: Time, channel, team news
A view of the Vasil Levski National Stadium. Pic:@INPHO/Kostadin Andonov

What is the competition?

Ireland are in League B, Group Four of the UEFA Nations League. The Boys in Green will go up against Bulgaria, Finland and Wales in the competition.

UEFA Nations League games contribute to coefficient rankings and can also offer a back door to qualification for the European Championships.

What are the odd?

Bulgaria 15/8

Ireland 13/10

Draw 2/1

Team news

Ireland Under-21 stars Jayson Molumby and Adam Idah could be in line to make their senior debuts. Tottenham striker Troy Parrott, currently on loan with Millwall, has been ruled out due to a muscle injury with Sean Maguire taking his place in the squad.

Idah has been given the number nine jersey in the absence of injured Sheffield United forward David McGoldrick.

Midfielder James McCarthy looks to have shaken off an injury scare and he could make his first international appearance since 2016.

West Brom defender Dara O’Shea is the unlucky player to miss out on a place in Kenny’s final 23-man match-day squad.

Full squad

1. Mark Travers (Bournemouth)

2. Seamus Coleman (Everton)

3. Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)

4. Shane Duffy (Celtic)

5. John Egan (Sheffield United)

6. Alan Browne (Preston North End)

7. Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur)

8. James McCarthy (Crystal Palace)

9. Adam Idah (Norwich City)

10. Robbie Brady (Burnley)

11. James McClean (Stoke City)

12. Callum Robinson (Sheffield United)

13. Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United)

14. Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa)

15. Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City)

16. Caoimhín Kelleher (Liverpool)

17. Aaron Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion)

18. Shane Long (Southampton)

19. Sean Maguire (Preston North End)

20. Harry Arter (Bournemouth)

21. Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers)

22. Jayson Molumby (Brighton & Hove Albion)

23. Darren Randolph (West Ham United)

More Stories Soccer Sport