Freddie Steward has just received a red card in Ireland’s Six Nation clash with England.
Hugo Keenan received an elbow to the head from Steward just before half-time.
It looked like it could be a very long evening for Ireland after the first 20 minutes with England turning up at the Aviva.
But in the 34th minute, Dan Sheehan scored Ireland’s opening try, releasing the pressure.
Then just before half-time, Steward received a straight red for a high tackle.
Red card for Freddie Steward pic.twitter.com/N6nVNx2qQN
— RugbyLAD (@RugbyLAD7) March 18, 2023
Fans took to social media to give their thoughts on the incident.
Not sure Freddie Steward could do anything about that. Player was ducking into him.
— Neil Fissler (@neilfissler) March 18, 2023
Hmm .. seems a harsh red card for Freddie Steward there. Dunno how he could have got out of the way🤷 #IREvENG
— Bryan (@Somewhataldente) March 18, 2023
That really is incredibly harsh on Freddie Steward. I am a major advocate of making the game safer, but I don’t see what else he could do, there. He’s been one of Englands best players this #SixNations , too.
— Mike Bubbins (@MikeBubbins) March 18, 2023
Out and out red card every day of the week. No attempt at tackle led with the elbow and shoulder
Utter nonsense…. you must have green tinted spectacles on
It’s obvious you’re ellie card at worst.
i’ve never played the game at any level! 1. zIt was a forward pass2. The ref had already blow his whistle.
3. Hugo Keenan was moving forward st speed leadin with his head 4. Steward had turned away and was falling to his right. 5 Hspp ned in a milli second. 6. The ref did not attempt any mitigation. Yellow card at worst. Congratulations Ireland awesome campaign!!
Complete nonsense Stewart had a milli second to react and in no way did he lead with anything .You need to look again without green lenses in
Unfortunately there is very little wiggle room in the Head Injury laws. I heard Pieffer say to Freddie “unfortunately in the presenr guidance I have no choice” as he pulled our the Red Card. Bless him – Freddy looked broken hearted.
The suggestion that Steward was bracing for impact is rubbish. He jumped into the Irish player leading with his elbow and shoulder. Both feet were off the ground. Yes the Irishman was falling and contributes to the impact. But the laws are clear. Contact with the head is red. Correct decision according to the laws of the game. No I’m neither Irish not English. Game is done. Better team on the day won. Time to build a bridge
One word for you mate. Specsavers.
Is unsure of the position and about mitigation keeps banging on about “rules is rules “
Firstly they are Laws
Second one of the laws is mitigation
How could he pull out ? He wasn’t going for a tackle he was going to collect the knocked on ball which Keenan should have left alone
So at the very last moment he tried to turn
As he wasn’t planning to tackle
He would not have wrapped his arms anyway
its therefore a YELLOW card