๐Ÿšจ ‘It was low’, Carl Froch shares his thoughts on Usyk vs Dubois controversy

Posted by

Carl Froch has given his assessment on the Usyk vs Dubois controversy.

Usyk scored a ninth round stoppage over the Brit, but it came after he was decked by an illegal shot from Dubois in round five.

MORE HERE: ๐Ÿšจ Duboisโ€™ coach accuses Usyk of โ€˜cheatingโ€™, the Ukrainian has responded

The Cobra has shared his opinions via his YouTube channel Froch On Fighting,

On the low blow controversy:

โ€œIn a word, was it a low blow? The answer to that is yes. It was a low blow. Under the Queensbury rules, if a punch lands on the belt or the box area, itโ€™s considered a foulโ€”an unintentional foul. Below the navel, itโ€™s a low blow.โ€

On some fans and social media users labeling Daniel Dubois as a quitter the former super-middleweight champion continued:

โ€œHe come out in round nine and he got caught then with what looked like a jab. It was a power punch though, it wasnโ€™t just a jab. He was stepping forward a bit and threw a really hard, ramrod like lead right hand.

He was hurt. His legs went, he stumbled and he went down to the ground. Now Iโ€™m reading a few bits saying that Dubois quit. Listen, Dubois probably saved himself for another day. He probably knew he was getting beat, he knew he wasnโ€™t gonna win the fight, he was getting tired and Usyk we know is a strong finisher.โ€


More Stories Boxing Carl Froch Daniel Dubois Oleksandr Uysk Usyk